The Colonial Beach United Methodist Church and the corner lot that it sits on have a unique history and connection to three other churches in the Town of Colonial Beach. When the original survey of the Town of Colonial Beach was made in 1882 there were no organized churches in the town. Sometime between 1882 and 1887 a group composed of citizens of various religious faiths was formed, The Ladies Colonial Beach Union Chapel Association.
On November 14, 1887, by deed, John T. Given conveyed to William W. Curtis, Charles E. Brayton and John J. Gould trustees of the Association a parcel of ground identified as Lot 1, Block 75,Colonial Beach. The Association then entered into a contract with John B. Hammond to build a white frame church on the site of the present day Methodist Church. The church, a twin tower edifice, faced Boundary Street. One tower housed a bell that was cast in Washington DC in 1855. The bell is now part of the sign in front of this church. The church was used by the Chapel Association until each of the denominations was able to build a church of their own.
In 1892 , worshipers in the newly chartered town of Colonial Beach met with other Christians at a joint place of worship known as the Union Chapel. Sunday services were conducted in successive weeks by the Reverends H. H. Fones, Baptist; Latane, Episcopalian; and James, Methodist. A joint service was conducted on the fourth Sunday of each month.
The Methodist Episcopal Church South, Colonial Beach Virginia was chartered in 1908, Rev. R. G. James was the pastor.
It is now the Colonial Beach United Methodist Church.